Driving Safety Course Information

A defendant charged with a moving traffic violation under the state law may be eligible to take a driving safety course in order to have the ticket dismissed and not appear on the permanent driving record. If a ticket is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums.

Defendants under the age of seventeen (17) must make a formal court appearance in front of a judge with a parent or legal guardian in order to request permission to take a driving safety course.

Persons other than juveniles may make arrangements to take a driving safety course between the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday, either on or before the scheduled court date listed on the citation. If the request is not made by the court date, a person may lose his option to take the course.

Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a Driving Safety Course.

A driver will NOT be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:

- 1. The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- 2. The alleged moving violation has occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- 3. The alleged violation is "passing a school bus while loading or unloading students"
- 4. The driver holds a commercial driver's license

In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must first have permission of the court to do so. To determine eligibility, a driving safety course must not have been taken 12 months prior to the date of the citation. It is the defendant's responsibility to determine if he/she is eligible to take a course. You may contact the court to find out eligibility requirements.

Once eligibility is determined, he/she must:

- 1. Enter a plea of no contest or guilty and waive right to a jury trial
- 2. Pay applicable state court costs and administrative fees
- 3. Present a valid Texas driver's license
- 4. Present valid insurance with the defendant's name on the card

PERMISSION TO TAKE A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (DSC) MAY ALSO BE REQUESTED BY MAIL (IF YOU LIVE MORE THAN 50 MILES AWAY) AND MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE COURT ON OR BEFORE THE APPEARANCE DATE LISTED ON THE CITATION. FAILURE TO SUBMIT THE REQUIRED INFORMATION AND PAYMENT BY THE LISTED COURT DATE WILL RESULT IN AN ADDITIONAL FEE OF \$75.00.

To complete the request by mail, send the following:

- 1. Signed request form for DSC (print copy): DSC Form
- 2. A copy of valid Texas driver's license
- 3. A copy of insurance card with defendant's name on card
- 4. A cashier's check or money order to pay court costs and fine amount. Please contact the Court at 936-597-6434 for your Court Costs and Fine amount.

A packet containing your receipt, an application for your driving record, and the deadline for taking the DSC class and turning in documents will be returned to the address listed on the request form provided to the court. Once you receive this packet, you may then register and take the Driving Safety Course. (DO NOT TAKE THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE OR REQUEST YOUR DRIVING RECORD UNTIL YOU RECEIVE THIS PACKET FROM THE COURT)

Documents that must be returned to court once you complete the Driving Safety Course:

The original Certificate of Completion (court copy signed by defendant), Driving Record (TYPE 3A), and sworn affidavit (signed and notarized), MUST be returned to the court by the due date assigned by the court and listed in your packet. Failure to take the course and turn in the documents by the due date may result in a show cause hearing which could result in a conviction being entered and payment of the remaining balance becoming due.

The driving record may also be ordered online from: Licensee Driver Records